Facebook Privacy: Who can see your posts?
Are you letting just a few friends see your updates or can the whole world see them? In this post, which is the second in a series about Facebook Privacy, I will show you how to adjust your Privacy settings for your posts and put your Facebook Friends into lists so that you be in control of what other people see about you.
Did you know that when you update your Facebook status, you can choose who can see your posts?
- Public means that anyone searching for you on Facebook will be able to see your post.
- Facebook has just announced that it is improving its search function by introducing what they call “Graph Search”.
- This means that your posts might become more visible.
- What many people don’t realise is that anyone who subscribes to your feed (now known as followers) will see all your Public posts in their feed.
- Anyone who has requested to be your friend will automatically become a follower and see your public posts in their feed whether you have agreed to be friends or not.
- I believe that with the new Graph Search, you will be able to do a search on your Followers as well.
- Facebook Pages are automatically set as public
- Means that only people that you have accepted as Friends will be able to see these posts EXCEPT
- In the ticker where Friends of Friends can see the post if your Friend comments on it. The ticker shows your Friends activities.
- The ticker moves fairly rapidly and is in real time, so within a short time after your friend has commented on your post, it won’t be visible anymore.
If you have only accepted people you know on Facebook as Friends, you can ignore the rest of this post, but if you are like so many Business owners who are using their Facebook Personal Profile as a way to network, then read on.
What to do if you have a mixture of Friends, Acquaintances and Strangers as your Facebook Friends
Either delete anyone who isn’t a true friend…
Categorise your Friends into Lists
How to put Friends into lists
- Look down the left hand column of your Home Page
- Find the section called “Friends”
- Hover your cursor to the left of the word and the word “More” will appear
- Click on “More”
- Facebook will already have created some categories for you and you can create your own
You can create your own lists, but if you want to keep things simple:
Put Strangers, business colleagues and anyone that you don’t want to see your personal posts as “Acquaintances”
- Facebook allows you to post to “Friends except Acquaintances”
- You can limit the frequency of posts that you see from these people
Put your Close Friends and Family as “Close Friends”
- You will see more of their posts
- You can post more personal posts just to this group.
Tip: When you accept new people as Friends get into the habit of putting them on a list.
Don’t forget to choose your Privacy settings for your Posts. Once you change it, the default posting will stay the same until you change it again.
This is the second in the series of blogs that I am writing about Facebook Privacy. The previous post was Facebook Privacy: Who can see your Stuff?
Would love to have your comments about this post, thank you.